How Nancy Thorner became an activist and a writer and what set her on her chosen pathway

September 1, 2011

 

Champion News recently asked Nancy Thorner about her extraordinary work as an activist and writer. The following was penned at our request to help motivate others to ‘get in the fight.’

 

Why do I write as I do and what keeps me going? These are questions that were recently asked of me.

It took me some time to gather my thoughts together so as to determine — much like the chicken and egg scenario — which came first in the development of my acute interest in politics, and also what inspires me (my source of motivation) to write as extensively as I do now days.

I would be remiss not to credit God foremost for the words I write which often seem to flow freely into my mind as I write. It is not uncommon for me to question the author of my work after I see it published.

I cannot say for sure, but it seems as if God, having bestowed upon me the ability to write, expects me to use my God-given talent in a way that pleases Him. Having tried to utilize my talent in a way that is pleasing to God, I feel that perhaps God is pleased with my efforts and is guiding me along the way.

Regarding how we decide what is to become most important in our lives, first there must be an interest within self to care about something with enough intensity to listen and to learn. It is always helpful to meet individuals and to experience events along the way that further inspire and nurture what has already begun to blossom inside.

What was it that set my life on a course to fashion me into what I have become today?

All seems to date back to the time in history when I was born. 1938 was the year when FDR was president. These were hard economic times before this nation had entered into World War II and the economy turned around due to the war effort.

It was my good fortune to have had a Dad who was a conservative Republican. Even at a young age my father taught me love of country and would discuss day-to-day political happening with me and my siblings. My dad’s love of politics and love for country remained with him throughout his life in his work as a knitter of hosiery at the Berkshire Knitting Mills near Reading, Pa.

As a self-taught man, never having graduated from high school — My dad attended a one-room school house as a youngster — he valued learning and through books he gained knowledge which he put to use in his every day life.

My dad’s good work ethics were also passed along to me. His Pennsylvania Deutch ancestry formed his values. He didn’t speak English until he started school, but instead the Pennsylvania Deutch (Dutch) dialect. I grew up with advice such as: “Don’t put off until tomorrow what you can do today, “A bargain isn’t really a bargain unless you really need it,” “Never spend more than you earn” (My dad never used a credit card and always paid in cash), and “A penny saved is a penny earned.”

My educational experiences furthered augmented love of country. Throughout grade school, high school, and college, unlike today, I was taught that American was a great and a good country.

It was also a time when Political Correction did not exist, God was not banned, prayer was permitted, and teacher unions were either non-existent or they lacked the influence and the power that they have today. Even today I find myself close to tears whenever I put my hand over my heart and recite “The Pledge of Allegiance.”

President Clinton’s election in the 1990′s drew out what had already been instilled within me at a very early age, transforming what had remained somewhat dormant to a full-blown passion, which might even be described as having morphed into my present-day obsession with writing. (By this time my late husband, also a conservative Republican and a second cousin to Barry Goldwater, had been deceased for several years.).

My self-described obsession further set me on a course in life to write and write some more, hoping that by doing so I’d be able to inform those who didn’t have either the time or the inclination to seek out the facts for themselves. In so doing it has become my mission to help others understand what lies ahead in a few short years if President Barack Obama is re-elected, unless this country can be pulled back from the brink of insolvency and failure, negating forever the freedom and liberty that have been trademarks for this nation since its founding.

To those who say they cannot write, have you ever tried? Like anything else writing takes practice, but it is worth all the time and effort spent. I never knew I could write until after the election of Bill Clinton. With two degrees in Music Education, my training certainly bears no relationship to what is presently consuming much of my time.

It is my hope that some of you will be inspired to write upon reading how my interest in writing developed. There is definitely a need for more conservative citizen writers. Why not let your thoughts be read by other, not just heard by your friends?

I would not be honest with myself if denying that perhaps age has something to do with my present frenzy to produce. We have so little time on this earth. Shouldn’t it be up to each one of us to make the most of it?

I was once told by the Voice of the People editor at the Chicago Tribune that she receives ten times more letters from Democrats than she does from Republicans. Accordingly, I was informed that Voice of the People letters are published in direct proportion to those submitted.

Most newspapers have word restrictions for letters of between 250 and 300 words. The 2012 elections are rapidly approaching. They could possibly represent the most important elections ever, for they are likely to determine the fate of this nation.

Let your voices be heard before it is too late to make a difference. You can do it! I did and have no desire to abandon my writing endeavors.

Leave a Reply

